It’s time to come back

Image

Today I read a blog post about a woman’s struggles with her miscarriage.  From that post I saw a link to another blog post from a woman entitled, “From Miscarriage to Miracle: This is My Testimony.”  I read it and it touched my heart.  She said some of the things I’ve been feeling recently.  I’m terrified about this pregnancy.  I’m not enjoying it as much as others have said I should.  I worry when his ultrasound pictures don’t look like the others.  I worry when I don’t feel him kicking much while others talk about how their babies keep them awake at night with all their kicking.  I worried when my belly looked too big, and I worry now that I’m not gaining much weight.  I don’t share the details of my pregnancy on Facebook because I’m afraid things won’t turn out well.  I worry that there will be something wrong with him.  I just worry.

Before I got pregnant the first time, I told myself that I would stand before the Bible Study crowd at church and give my testimony of infertility all the way to baby.  I got pregnant and began thinking about when I would share my testimony and what all I would say.  Then the pregnancy ended and as I’ve written in previous posts, I was angry with God.  I made peace with things and we were able to get pregnant later.

I sit here now six months pregnant, but I’m not sharing my testimony.  To be honest, I’m really afraid of sharing my testimony only to have something bad happen.  I don’t want others looking to my testimony for their faith in God only to have things turn out bad.  I don’t want someone to read my blog and come and say, “See, I knew God wasn’t real.” I keep telling myself, I’ll start really blogging again once my son is born.  I think it’s important for people to see the good along with the bad.  Some people can live their life full of faith and hardly ever let the bad things get them down.  That’s awesome for them.  Some people struggle with their faith.  They have good days and they have bad days.  This blog is for those people.  We need to know that bright days can out number the grey days.  We need to learn how to see the bright days.  I’ve been away, but I’m ready to come back and share my struggles.  All of this is part of my testimony and that’s what this blog is about.

2 thoughts on “It’s time to come back

  1. Dear heart,

    Thank you for your revelation—your testimony. I can’t say that I can call on scripture to give you the perfect words for comfort; my own doubts and fears and emotions and questions have been stronger than my desire to lean on The Word. But I do know that God is real and that in my darkest hours, calling on him gave me solace. Strength. Hope. Peace. I want these things for you. Your baby needs those things, too, as he makes his journey from womb to world. As a mother, I’ve found that even in the moments when I feel too weak to do what’s necessary as a woman, I’ve found the strength of Samson in my desire to protect my kids. Let your baby be your strength. Do what you need to do to protect him. And know that a part of that protection has to be your letting go of the fear and worry so that he (and you!) can have a low-stress home in your womb and in delivery. Stress for us is REAL. And it can hurt all involved. I know this is easier said than done. But try you must. And the only way I know how to do that is to have what is the very centerpiece of any religion: faith. You’re in my prayers, sister.

    Denene

Leave a Reply

